Where Does it Flow? Modeling the Movements of Marine Debris
Date: 05/07/14 7:00 PM ET / 4:00 PM PT - 05/07/14 8:00 PM ET / 5:00 PM PT
Location: Online
Attendance: Free

Computer models can help scientists predict where flotsam and jetsam will travel within ocean gyres; this is especially relevant today, with increased awareness of the impacts of marine debris on ocean ecosystems. We will hear from Dr. Nikolai Maximenko and Dr. Jan Hafner, research scientists at the International Pacific Research Center, who use computer models to predict debris trajectories in the ocean, including the debris jettisoned out to sea after the 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan.

Webinar Archive

Contact Name: Carla Companion
Contact Phone: (207) 563-8175
Contact Email:

Return to Archived Event List